Brief History


The library is the mirror of the academic soul. It sets goals and objectives in support of the plans and programs of the De La Salle Medical and Health Sciences Institute. The Romeo P. Ariniego, MD, AFSC Library was originally called the College of Medicine Library. It was transferred to the Research Services at the Angelo King Medical Research Center Building in 1994 under its former director, Dr. Charles Yu. A satellite library for the College of Physical Therapy was also established when it transferred here at DLSMHSI in June 1994.

In 1995, the Library became part of the Information Management Unit (IMU), which was created together with the Audio-Visual Section and the Office of Publication as the other sub-units. The transfer of the College of Nursing and Midwifery and the College of Medical Radiation Technology from DLSU-Dasmariñas in 2002 paved the way for the change of the name to De La Salle Health Sciences Institute Library. All the collections were housed at the library located at the basement of Angelo King Medical Research Center Building except for the physical therapy collections which were placed at the third floor of the Academic Building.

In 2006 when the Academic Center for the Health Sciences (Wang Building) was built, the allied health collection was transferred at the sixth floor of this building. At the same time, a satellite library for the general education collection was created at the ground floor of the same building. On the other hand, the medical library remained at the basement of the Angelo King Medical Research Center Building and served as the central library. A year later, the Library was reorganized to become a unit under the Office of the Academic Services.

In January 2010, the library finally transferred to its new building. All collections are now currently housed in one building. A soft blessing was held on January 6, 2010 to publicly open the new library building to the academic community. The formal blessing, on the other hand, was held on March 9, 2010 which was graced by the Board of Trustees (BOT), top administrators, faculty members, staff, and students. On the same date, the library building was officially given the name as the De La Salle Health Sciences Institute Romeo P. Ariniego, MD Library.

A year after, the Library became an independent unit and currently reports to the Office of Vice Chancellor for Academics.

In February 2019, the Library changed its name to Romeo P. Ariniego, MD, AFSC Library, following the recognition to Dr. Ariniego as affiliate member of the Institute of the Brothers of the Christian Schools.

In December 2023, the four-storey Learning Commons Expansion was opened beside the main library building, which housed the reading areas, classrooms and a 200-seater auditorium. The construction of classrooms at the 7th floor of the main library was also finished and turned over on the same period.