DLSMHSI implements inter-professional education and practice

April 27, 2022 | 6:21 pm

IPE sessions for students
The Center for Inter-Professional and Practice (CIPEP) conducted Modules 2 and 3 synchronous sessions for GE-IPE 101 on March 26, 2022. Module 2 : Roles and Responsibilities was prepared by Benjamin Balmoris, Jr, MD., while Module 3 : Teams and Teamwork was developed by Amapola D.G. Puaso, RMT, MSMT.  Details of the IPE modules can be found here
https://www.dlshsi.edu.ph/academics/center-inter-professional-education-practice/ge-ipe-101-syllabus-2021-2022/International IPE training 2022

Gunma University, the WHO Collaborating Center for Research and Training in Interprofessional Education, shall conduct the 9th IPE Training Course on August 22-26, 2022 via Zoom. The program aims to capture the current state and future issues of IPE, share the basic principles of the development of IPE programs, discuss a model of IPE curricula at a university and explore the possibilities of research collaboration. It shall be beneficial for those faculty with a strong interest in introducing the new IPE curricula in their educational institutions. The following academic teaching faculty were endorsed by CIPEP and accepted in the training :

Romeo-Luis F. Ramirez, RPh
Dr. Mariano Que College of Pharmacy

Margel C. Bonifacio, RCh, PhD
College of Allied Sciences

DLSMHSI takes its spot as the top 2 performing pharmacy school in the Philippines

DLSMHSI was named top 2 performing pharmacy school in the country based on the results of the April 2022 Pharmacist Licensure Examination, posting a passing rate of 84.62%, higher than the national passing rate of 36.25%. DLSMHSI alumnus Gabrielle Angelo Castro Marasigan, RPh also landed on top 7 with a rating of 89.92%.Congratulations to the Dr. Mariano Que College of Pharmacy alumni, administrators, academic teaching and service faculty and non-teaching personnel for this twin accomplishment and for the consistent outstanding performance in the licensure examination.

CAS students win in national chemistry quiz bee

Students of the College of Allied Sciences (CAS) won second runner-up in 2022 PACSiklaban during the National Chemistry Students’ Congress (NCSC) with the theme “+C: Integrating Chemical Sciences towards Stable and Sustainable Solutions” organized by the Philippine Association of Chemistry Students Inc. (PACS Inc.). PACSiklaban is an annual national inter-collegiate chemistry quiz bee where students gather and showcase their prowess in chemistry.

Congratulations to the following students:
Kathleene Nicole Perez
Ma. Patricia Eunice Ancheta
Randmar David Balleras
Heineken Frani
Jay Gabriel Larga
Rannilo Rosas, Jr.

Kudos also to the following academic teaching faculty coaches:
Bryan Christian de la Isla, RCh
Justin Darryl Mateo, RCh
Luisito Salting, Jr., RCh

Tea and Substance with the VCA features Academics non-teaching personnel

The latest episode of Tea and Substance was held on April 11, 2022, 10:00am via Zoom Webinar with the theme “Winning Workforce: Spotlight on the Academic Non-Teaching Personnel”. Human resource is one of the valuable assets of an institution. The Academics recognizes the contributions, hard work and dedication of the non-teaching personnel towards the successes and accomplishments of the Colleges and Services. Four (4) non-teaching personnel were invited to share their thoughts about work, life and camaraderie and to talk about the NTP Movers, an organization by and for the Academics non-teaching personnel.

Ma. Anna Lyn B. Ferma
Head, International Student Relations Unit,
Center for Internationalization, Academic Affiliations and Engagements (CIAAE)
Chair, NTP Movers, SY2021-2022

Vania Joice V. Adrineda
Administrative Assistant,
Dr. Mariano Que College of Pharmacy (DMQCP)
Secretary, NTP Movers, SY2021-2022

Joshiko Velasco
Head, Virtual Learning Environment,
Center for Innovative Education and Technology Integration (CIETI)

Leslie V. Brito
Executive Assistant,
Office of the Vice Chancellor for Academics (OVCA)

DLSMHSI alumnus and physician receives the TOYM 2021 award 

Dr. Jaime Alfonso M. Aherrera was the recipient of the TOYM 2021 Award for Medicine and Cardiology. He is a graduate of DLSMHSI College of Medicine Class 2008, holds an Assistant Professor faculty post in the same college and an interventional cardiologist at DLSUMC Internal Medicine Department.Congratulations, Dr. Aherrera!

About the award:
The Outstanding Young Men (TOYM) award, formerly known as The Outstanding Young Filipinos (TOYF) from 1996 to 1999, is an annual national recognition awarded to Filipinos between 18 and 40 years of age who have made significant contributions to their field  or community. The award is organized yearly by JCI Philippines with the support of the TOYM Foundation, as well as other partners and stakeholders.(https://jciphilippines.com/toym-2021-everyday-leaders/